September 5, 2019News Home Feature


Click For Full list of Trophy, Award and Medal Winners

Dainton Brewery’s Triple Dry Hopped Double Red Eye Rye

Judged to be Australia’s best independent beer.

Fixation Brewing Company

Awarded Champion Large Brewery,

3 Ravens

Awarded Champion Small/Medium Brewery

All Hands Brewing House

Wins the inaugural Champion Brewpub.

The Australian brewing community gathered in Melbourne tonight to celebrate the best beer in the
country at the Independent Beer Awards, affectionately known as ‘The Indies’.

Hosted by the Independent Brewers Association, the Indies are an important platform to drive
consumer awareness of the quality, excellence and importance of Australian independent beer, as
well as providing an occasion for independent brewers to celebrate the strength of their
contributions to improving Australia’s beer culture.

Over a thousand entries were judged by a respected panel of national and international beer
professionals to recognise the best beers and award the Champion Beer Trophy to the most
outstanding entry in each class.

The Champion Trophy awards winners are:

Champion Australian Indie Beer

Dainton Brewery’s Triple Dry Hopped Double Red Eye Rye

Champion Independent Large Brewery

Fixation Brewing Company

Champion Independent Small/Medium Brewery

3 Ravens

Pale Ale

Mismatch Brewing Co. Pale Ale (keg)

Amber Dark Ale

Nail Brewing Co. Nail Red (keg)


Stomping Ground Brewing Co. Bunker (keg)


Beer Hunter Beer Co. Slaked Magpie (keg)


Sydney Brewery Surry Hills Pils (pack)

India Pale Ale

Modus Operandi Brewing Former Tenant Red IPA (pack)


Style Ale Bright Brewery Razor Witbier (keg)


Sauce Brewing Co. Piss-Weak Sauce (pack)


Dainton Brewery Red Eye Rye (pack)

Mixed Culture

Dollar Bill Brewing Pty Ltd Learning to Breathe (pack)

The Champion State/Territory winners are:

Champion Independent Brewery NSW

 All Hands Brewing House

Champion Independent Brewery QLD

Balter Brewing

Champion Independent Brewery VIC

3 Ravens

Champion Independent Brewery WA 

 Gage Roads Brewing Co.

Champion Independent Brewery ACT/NT

BentSpoke Brewing Co.

Champion Independent Brewery SA

Mismatch Brewing Co.

Champion Independent Brewery TAS

Van Dieman Brewing

Champion Australian Independent Brewpub (presented by Craft Brewery Insurance)

This year saw the introduction of this category to recognise the significant number of brewpubs in
Australia and their integral role in the Australian craft beer segment. A Brewpub is determined as
servicing its local community and can be a pub, taproom or restaurant that brews beer onpremises,
with at least 75% beer sold onsite.

Champion Independent Brewpub

All Hands Brewing House

Industry Nominated Awards

Each year the Indies also recognises individuals who have consistently exceeded expectations in
their support, development and promotion of Australian independent beer.

Service to Industry Award (presented by Australian Brews News)

Neal Cameron

Young Gun of the Year Award (presented by O-I Glassware)

Dan McCulloch, Lallemands

Community Initiative of the Year Award (presented by Liquex Logistics)

Stone & Wood, Ingrained Foundation

True Indie Supporter Award (presented by Thirsty Merchants)

Corey Crooks, Grain Store

The Indies Awards also allows the beer industry to celebrate the success of BrewCon 2019. The
brewing and business conference is the hero event for the Independent Brewers Association, held
this year at the Melbourne Convention Exhibition Centre. The conference exists to build excellence
and best practice standards in the Australian beer industry.

Click For Full list of Trophy, Award and Medal Winners